×

Warning

JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 750



Interview with The Ranks

  • 05/04/2017 - 00:06 Read: 1854  Rate this item
    (4 votes)
  • comment 

Members of the tribute band The Ranks playing the songs of Pink Floyd, - Stanislav Gelda (vocal, keyboards) and Andrei Peskov (bass guitar) talked to the correspondent of MetalHeads.By.

MH: Why this name?
Stanislav: As it’s stated in our official group - the name is inspired by the line of Pink Floyd's song "On the Turning Away" ("A Momentary Lapse of Reason" album – author’s remark):
Unaware how the ranks have grown
Driven on by a heart of stone.
And the word The Ranks has several meanings.

MH: At least three: an ordinary participant in something; weight; ordinary people.
Stanislav: Yes, right. We couldn’t pick up the right name for a long time. Since the band was already formed, and the first concert was planned, but the name never came to mind. At the last moment we stopped on The Ranks. Striving to perform such a great music we decided to remain "ordinary people".

MH: Did you have other variants?
Stanislav: We had plenty but they had nothing to do with Pink Floyd, thus weren’t valuable.
Andrei: When I joined the band I didn’t really like the name of the band, and I still don’t. (everyone laughs) When you search The Ranks on YouTube, you could find some Africans with guns or smth. like this. Sometimes I think that we should change the name for the more appropriate one.

THE RANKSMH: Well, I can’t but agree. I don’t see connection between The Ranks and “Pink Floyd”. And a tribute band needs it. Let’s look at “Brit Floyd” – their name directly points at the music they play.
Stanislav:
Yes, sure. But we took into account the fact that we were going to play not the songs of Pink Floyd only. We looked at it from the point of perspective that one day we’d like to play some other kind of music also. So The Ranks – is pretty convenient.

MH: Let you have it upon your conscience.
(everyone laughs) When was the band formed and who was on board?
Stanislav:
The idea of the band belongs to our former solo-guitarist Andrei Khasenevich, which left the band in the end of 2016. I supported the idea right away, since Pink Floyd was one of my favourite band. Then the drummer Alexander Griboyedov-Belevich joined the band and still plays with us. We’ve had a bass player, but he lasted only for one show with us. And after Andrei joined us and for some reason he took the role of a bass player too (everyone laughs). We’ve been a four piece for long.

MH: Excuse me, but how can Pink Floyd exist without keyboards?
Stanislav:
Keyboards were on me plus I managed to sing somehow too (everyone laughs). It wasn’t easy. But one should take into account that during live shows Rick Wright used many keyboards and supporting keyboards’ players, as well as percussions, guitars, etc. by the way. First we chose only those songs we could play live with the current lineup without losing quality. It was extremely important for us.

MH: Were these early Pink Floyd songs?
Stanislav:
Of course not. We focused on the mature material of the band.
Andrei:
We discussed the albums and analyzed each song from the point of view of performing live according to our technical capabilities.
Stanislav:
If, for example, originally there are two guitars, and we have one, then we considered the option of a suitable arrangement, but not to the detriment of the song. We wanted to play the songs of great Brits as close as possible to the original.

THE RANKS MH: When was the first concert?
Stanislav: May 23, 2014. From this date we are officially counting our history. Before that we gathered and learned material, took some time.

MH: How did you have the audacity to start playing Pink Floyd anyway?
Andrei: Everything began with Stas. It's all him! He's the one who graduated from the music academy and is studying at the magistracy! (everyone laughs) And he is by nature a terrible perfectionist. And we are as an addition. As for the technical side, Floyd's music is not as complicated as it might seem: there are no complicated technical tricks and guitar tricks.
Stanislav: Gilmore does not have random notes. MH: There's depth.
Stanislav: The complexity of Pink Floyd's music is not in individual parts, but in combination, in integrity and consistency.

MH: For me, this is a universal infinity and metaphysical emotion; it's over-music that lies beyond the usual understanding.
Stanislav: All the musical canvas of Pink Floyd is alive, it’s breathing.
  MH: We can talk about this for a long time, but let's go back to the topic. When did other members join the band?
Andrei: Our second guitarist is Artem Raisky – a very modest guy. And then it turned out that he plays the keyboards also (everyone laughs). Then…
  MH: Girls!
Stanislav: Yes, girls. We were long in search of a permanent backing female vocalist, and we had to hire session musicians. There is always one problem with them: they want to come to a concert in a beautiful dress, but do nothing at all.  MH: Why should they if they're beautiful?! (everyone laughs)
Stanislav: Then our Katya appeared! [Ekaterina Kaznadei - backing vocals, keyboards, tambourine – author’s remark] My groupmate and one more person with musical background. And Ira is our saxophonist [Irina Lepesh]. She graduated from "Glinka" as a jazz and variety saxophonist. Thus, today there are 7 people in our band.
Andrei: And Ira is also a very responsible person: despite the fact that her parts are only in 3 songs we perform, she regularly attends all the rehearsals, regardless of the program.  MH: For how long have you been in this lineup?
Stanislav: Approximately from the end of last year.
THE RANKSMH: Isn’t the grandeur of music lost in the club format?
Stanislav:
It all depends on the sound engineer. In fact, everything is real: the sound can be fixed and it will sound as it should.

MH: Let's talk about the feedback and reaction of the audience.
Andrew:
There were no negative reviews throughout the band’s history.
Stanislav:
We try to give everything we can. We do not play only for the sake of playing, just like some other cover bands. And we do not claim for making our performance genius - we try to do our best and to show everything that we are capable of.
Andrei:
When you manage to dissolve in music and feel the audience ... it's precious. It’s worth living for. But this requires a lot of effort. As one says, "the stars should be lined up in the sky"...

MH: Well, so should the neurons in one’s brain.
(everyone laughs)
Andrew: In fact, even Pink Floyd had bad performances.

MH: Let's talk about your posters. Who makes them?
Andrei:
I do, but I’ve got no special skills for that.
MH: I would say that they look not bad!
Andrew: I use some elements of fan art, photoshop. When there is copyright involved, I put the reference to the source. In our case the poster is very important - it's like an element of the upcoming show. Any concert begins with a poster. By the way, our Katya showed a talent for drawing. The last poster is her work. And many thanks to her for that!

MH: Moreover I’ve noticed you initially on poster. I can even say when! It was the day before the performance of Brit Floyd - November 3. But the circumstances did not let me get to know you back then.
Andrei:
So e’ve spent so much time on this poster not in vain! (everyone laughs)
Stanislav: Unfortunately, at the moment we don’t have the final version of the logo. Many of the fonts on the Internet do not suit me. I think there must be something special, man-made. Now with Katya we are now engaged in the creation of the concept.

THE RANKSMH: And when is the next show planned?
Stanislav:
The next performance takes place on April 6 at TNT ROCK CLUB. It’s going to be a complete reconstruction of two albums of Pink Floyd - "The Dark Side of the Moon" (1973) and "Wish you were here" (1975). As for performers, this is a serious challenge for us. We have been preparing this program for a very long time.
Andrei:
Initially we were going to perform on March 24, the day of the release of "The Dark Side of the Moon", but we would not be able to prepare due to the circumstances.

MH: You’re the ones to blame!
(everyone laughs) You said that probably, The Ranks will perform not only the music of Pink Floyd. What could it be?
Andrew:
We’ve already tried to play some songs of The Rolling Stones and The Doors, but then we realized that it was "not our cup of tea."
Stanislav:
Probably it will be prog-rock of the 70th – Yes, King Crimson, Genesis…

MH: Unlike the tracks of Pink Floyd such music, unfortunately, will be much less in demand.
Andrei:
In any case, it will not happen soon. If we talk about plans for the future, we would eagerly play some shows in the regional centers of Belarus. In the meantime we are waiting for everyone in TNT on April 6.
Stanislav:
Come to see us. We will be happy to share with the listeners the great music of Pink Floyd!

 
Interviewed: BoroDa
Photos are provided by the band
Сохранить



Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

Поиск

Радио MetalHeads

Ближайшие концерты


19
Jul
2020

19 July 2020

Брюгге
Партизанский пр-т, 6А


12
Sep
2020

12 September 2020

Брюгге
Партизанский пр-т, 6А


25
Sep
2020

25 September 2020

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


06
Nov
2020

06 November 2020

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


17
Nov
2020

17 November 2020

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


26
Nov
2020

26 November 2020

Falcon Club Arena
пр. Победителей 20


01
Mar
2021

01 March 2021

Prime Hall
пр. Победителей 65


07
Mar
2021

07 March 2021


TBA


12
Mar
2021

12 March 2021

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62

Вход

METALHEADS.BY © 2014-2019 All Rights Reserved. 93c8f939b9c83ef7

>


Интервью с The Ranks

  • 05/04/2017 - 03:06 Прочитано: 629  Оцените материал
    (3 голосов)
  • Комментариев: 

Участники трибьют-группы The Ranks, исполняющей песни Pink Floyd, - Станислав Гелда (вокалист-клавишник) и Андрей Песков (бас-гитарист) побеседовали с корреспондентом MetalHeads.By.
MH: Почему именно такое название?
Станислав: Как написано в нашем сообществе, название навеяно строкой из композиции Pink Floyd «On the Turning Away» (альбом «A Momentary Lapse of Reason» – прим. авт.):

Unaware how the ranks have grown
Driven on by a heart of stone.

А само слово The Ranks имеет несколько значений.

MH: Как минимум три: рядовой участник чего-либо; масса; обыкновенные люди.
Станислав: Да, это так. С названием мы долго не могли определиться. Вроде, и группа уже образовалась, и первый концерт был запланирован, а название так и не приходило в голову. В самый последний момент остановились именно The Ranks. Стремясь исполнять такую великую музыку, мы решили остаться «обычными людьми».

MH: Были ли еще варианты?
Станислав: Много было разных, но они не были связаны с Pink Floyd, и потому особой ценности не представляли.
Андрей: Когда я пришел в группу, мне это название не особо понравилось, как, собственно, и сейчас. (дружный смех) YouTube при запросе The Ranks вообще выдавал каких-то африканцев, вооруженных автоматами, или что-то вроде того. Иногда я думаю, что нам стоит всё-таки сменить название на более удачное. 

THE RANKS
MH: Тут я, пожалуй, соглашусь. Я не чувствую связи между The Ranks и «Pink Floyd». А для трибъют-группы такая связь очень важна. У тех же «Brit Floyd» именование уже напрямую сигнализирует, чью музыку они исполняют.
Станислав: Да, конечно. Но мы изначально исходили из того, что будем не только исполнять композиции Pink Floyd. Смотрели на это несколько шире – в перспективу думали пробовать играть несколько иную музыку. Так что в этом плане The Ranks - вполне удобное название.

MH: Пусть это будет на вашей совести. (дружный смех) Когда вы образовались и кто на борту?
Станислав: Идея создания группы принадлежит нашему бывшему соло-гитаристу Андрею Хасеневичу, покинувшему коллектив в конце 2016 года. Создать коллектив, который бы мог, хотел и был в состоянии исполнять именно такую музыку. На призыв я откликнулся с радостью, ибо Pink Floyd - одна из моих любимейших групп. Затем в группу пришел барабанщик - Александр Грибоедов-Белевич. Он до сих пор в строю. Был еще басист, но с ним отыграли только один концерт. А затем пришел Андрей, который тоже почему-то оказался басистом (дружный смех). Долгое время мы оставались квартетом.

MH: Извините, но что за Pink Floyd без клавиш?
Станислав: За клавиши отвечал я, причем еще как-то умудрялся петь (дружный смех). Было непросто. Не стоит забывать, что  на живых концертах Рик Райт задействовал огромное количество клавиш и клавишников. Как, впрочем, и перкуссионистов, гитаристов и прочих. На первоначальном этапе мы выбирали только те песни, которые можно было исполнить имеющимся составом, не потеряв при этом качества исполнения. Для нас это было очень важно.

MH: Это были песни начала Pink Floyd? 
Станислав: Нет, конечно. Отталкивались мы от зрелого творчества группы.
Андрей: На обсуждении предлагался тот или иной альбом. Каждая песня разбиралась на предмет возможного исполнения, исходя из технических возможностей на тот момент. 
Станислав: Если, к примеру, в оригинале звучит две гитары, а у нас одна, то рассматривали вариант подходящей аранжировки, но не в ущерб песне. Мы стремились исполнять песни великих британцев максимально приближенно к оригиналу.

THE RANKS
MH: Когда состоялся первый концерт?
Станислав: 23 мая 2014 года. С этой даты мы и ведем официальный отсчет своей истории. До того мы долго собирались и разучивали материал.

MH: Как у вас хватило наглости всё-таки начать играть Pink Floyd?
Андрей: Началось всё со Стаса. Это всё он! Это он у нас закончил академию музыки и учится в магистратуре! (дружный смех) А ещё он по своей натуре страшный перфекционист. А мы уже так, в довесок,по наитию. Что касается технической стороны, музыка Флойдов не настолько сложная, как может показаться: там нет сложных технических приемов и гитарных наворотов. 
Станислав: У Гилмора нет случайных нот.

MH: Там есть глубина.
Станислав: Сложность музыки Pink Floyd не в отдельных партиях, а в совокупности, в целостности и последовательности.

MH: Для меня это всёленская бесконечность и метафизическая проникновенность, это над-музыка, которая лежит вне привычного понимания.
Станислав: Вся музыкальная ткань Pink Floyd живая, она дышит.

MH: Об этом можно говорить долго, но давайте всё-таки вернемся к теме. Остальные участники когда пришли?
Андрей: Наш второй гитарист  - Артем Райский. Очень скромный парень. А потом оказалось, что он играет еще и на клавишах (дружный смех). Дальше…

MH: Девочки!
Станислав: Да, девочки. Мы долго были в поисках постоянной бэк-вокалистки, поскольку вынуждены были прибегать к услугам сессионных музыкантов. С ними постоянно одна проблема: хотят прийти на концерт в красивом платье, но при этом ничего не делать.

MH: А зачем, если они красивые?! (дружный смех)
Станислав: Затем появилась наша Катя! [Екатерина Казнадей - бэк-вокал, клавишные, тамбурин – прим. авт.] Моя одногрупница, еще один человек с музыкальным образованием. И Ира – наш саксофонист [Ирина Лепеш]. Она закончила «Глинку» как джазовый и эстрадный саксофонист. Таким образом, на сегодняшний день в нашей группе 7 человек.
Андрей: А ещё Ира очень ответственно подходящий к делу человек: несмотря на то, что её партии есть всёго в трёх исполняемых нами композициях, она регулярно присутствует на всёх репетициях, причем вне зависимости от программы.

MH: Как долго вы уже существуете в таком составе?
Станислав: Примерно с конца прошлого года.

THE RANKS
MH: Не теряется ли грандиозность и величие музыки при клубном формате?
Станислав: Тут всё зависит от звукорежиссера. В принципе, всё реально: звук можно вырулить, и будет звучать, как надо.

MH: Давайте поговорим про отзывы и реакцию публики.
Андрей: Как таковых негативных отзывов за время существования коллектива не было.
Станислав: Стараемся выдать всё, на что мы способны. У нас не бывает такого, чтобы мы играли только выступления ради, как это иногда происходит с некоторыми кавер-бэндами. И мы не претендуем на гениальность своего исполнения – стараемся сделать всё по максимуму, показать всё, на что мы способны.
Андрей: Когда удается раствориться  в музыке и почувствовать публику… это дорого стоит. Ради такого стоит жить. Но для этого нужно приложить массу усилий. Как говорится, «звезды должны выстроиться на небе»…

MH: Ну и еще нейроны в мозгу. (дружный смех)
Андрей: На самом деле, даже у самих Pink Floyd бывали неудачные выступления.

MH: Давайте обратимся к афишам. Кто занимаемся их разработкой?
Андрей: Занимаюсь ими я, но особых склонностей к этому не имею. 

MH: Я бы сказал, что очень не плохо!
Андрей: Использую некоторые элемены фан-арта, фотошоп. Когда имеет место копирайт, в этом случае обязательно указывается источник. В нашем случае афиша очень важна – это как элемент предстоящего шоу. Любой концерт начинается с афиши. Кстати, у нашей Кати обнаружился талант к рисованию. Последняя афиша – её рук дело. За что ей огромное спасибо!

MH: Я даже больше скажу, именно благодаря афише я вас и заметил. Даже могу сказать когда! Это было за день до выступления Brit Floyd - 3 ноября. Но стечение обстоятельств не позволило тогда познакомиться с вами.
Андрей: Значит, не зря мы так долго мучились с этой афишей! (дружный смех)
Станислав: К сожалению, на сегодняшний момент у нас нет окончательного варианта логотипа. Многие шрифты в интернете меня не устраивают. Думаю, должно быть нечто особенное, рукотворное. Вот с Катей сейчас занимаемся созданием концепта.

THE RANKS
MH: А когда будет следующий концерт?
Станислав: Ближайшее выступление состоится 6 апреля в TNT ROCK CLUB. По своей сути, это будет полная реконструкция двух альбомов Pink Floyd - «The Dark Side of the Moon» (1973) и «Wish you were here» (1975). Как для исполнителей, для нас это серьезный вызов. Очень долго уже готовим эту программу.
Андрей: Первоначально думали выступить 24 марта, в день выхода «The Dark Side of the Moon», но мы просто не успели бы подготовиться в силу обстоятельств.

MH: Сами виноваты! (дружный смех) Сегодня вы сказали, что, возможно, The Ranks будут исполнять не только музыку Pink Floyd. Что же это может быть?
Андрей: Мы уже как-то пробовали исполнять несколько песен The Rolling Stones и The Doors, но потом поняли, что это «не наше».
Станислав: Возможно, это будет прог-рок 70-х – Yes, King Crimson, Genesis

MH: В отличие от композиций «Pink Floyd», такая музыка, к сожалению, будет пользоваться куда меньшим спросом.
Андрей: В любом случае, это будет нескоро. Если говорить о планах на будущее, мы с большим удовольствием покатались бы с концертами по областным центрам Беларуси. Ну а пока ждем всёх 6 числа в TNT.
Станислав: Приходите. Будем рады поделиться со слушателями великой музыкой Pink Floyd!

 
Беседовал: БороДа
Фото предоставлены группой

Поиск

Ближайшие концерты


20
окт
2017

20 октября 2017

Бар iLi Клуб
Минск, пр-т Независимости, 131, к.1


22
окт
2017

22 октября 2017

клуб "Брюгге"
Партизанский пр-т, 6А


28
окт
2017

28 октября 2017

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


28
окт
2017

28 октября 2017

клуб "Брюгге"
Минск, Партизанский пр-т, 6А


02
нояб
2017

02 ноября 2017

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


04
нояб
2017

04 ноября 2017

клуб "Брюгге"
Минск, Партизанский пр-т, 6А


10
нояб
2017

10 ноября 2017

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


11
нояб
2017

11 ноября 2017

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


12
нояб
2017

12 ноября 2017

Falcon Club
Минск, пр-т Победителей, 20


18
нояб
2017

18 ноября 2017

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62

Комментарии

Контакты

METALHEADS.BY © 2014-2017 All Rights Reserved.

Language