>


'Acrid like a medusa and nasty as a wasp' - Interview with SOLFERNUS (Czech Republic)

  • 10/11/2017 - 19:32 Read: 222  Rate this item
    (3 votes)
  • comment 

You might know that each country has its own cult bands. And you might also know that often musicians of these bands play in some other projects as well. Today we talk with one of such guys - the guitarist of the cult Czech band ROOT about his own band SOLFERNUS.


MetalHeads.by (MH): We’d like to know some more details about the way Solfernus was formed. What was the starting point?

Igor: SOLFERNUS was formed as the black metal project in 2003. The starting point was easy – dark music's creation. We recorded a mini CD „Diabolic Phenomenon“ (self-release) in the same season and later the debut full length album „Hysteria in Coma“ in 2005 for Shindy Productions. The band played out a few gigs in Czech Republic and one in Germany, some open airs were on the shows' list too. There was quite long pause since 2008 and we met at the studio in 2016 again to record the second album called „Neoantichrist“ which was released via Satanath Records. Here it is and we're promoting that record now.

IZT-PjyzvFY
MH: As far as I know you aren’t actively touring, and if you do – within Czech Republic only. Have you thought of broadening your geography?

Igor: If there will appear a real interest and we'll start with shows in future again, so it's sure that it should be in more countries, not only Czech Republic.

MH: You played two years in a row at Brutal Assault in Czech Republic. What impressions do you have of its organization? Have you got the maximum response from the audience? Were there any fun cases you put in store for your grandchildren?

Igor: SOLFERNUS played at Brutal Assault many years ago and this festival was not such a big event as nowadays. But it was still the biggest true metal open air in Czech Republic and Slovakia. We got killer response from the audience and those two shows were our best so far. You can watch it in the videoclip „Hysteria in Coma“ which contains footage from Brutal Assault 2006. The organization of the whole weekend was almost professional but still with some mistakes because in that time the festival itself really started to grow and there came something over seven thousand people.

MH: Which music projects do you take part in nowadays? What ideas of further development do you have? Is music your main activity? I mean many Belarusian musicians have music as hobby and have to earn for their living doing smth. else. And do you still have enough time for settling your own private lives apart from doing creative stuff?

Igor: Me and the drummer play in ROOT which is our main band, of course. We play shows and prepare to create new album with this legendary horde. The music is not our main activity but as you have said – the main hobby. I'm sure it is similar in Belarus as well as in other places. It's just the music what sets us free from the reality and private lives.

QpEzIJW999w

MH: Recently you’ve released the new work with an intriguing name 'Neoantichrist'. The lyrics are pretty outright and appealing. Is this the expression of your life philosophy or just a commercial trick of a ‘sweet forbidden fruit’?

Igor: That's great you like the lyrics on the new album and its title. I tried to bring different themes for each song and make the whole album more attractive. Sweet forbidden fruit is a fine description I guess, but the most lines in the lyrics are written with an honest view of this world, mainly the title-track „Neoantichrist“. People can find also a morbid fun in „That One Night“ song inspired by infamous doctor Hannibal Lecter or such a reflection about the awakening inside of a coffin put down in the grave – the thought which everybody had in mind at least once during a life – the track called „Between Two Deaths“. The horror hit song that we would like to make also as the videoclip is „Mistresserpent“.

MH: Who’s responsible for lyrics and music in your band? Can you characterize the recording process in studio you have well organized or do you still have some fight while creating new material? Who has the last word?

Igor: I composed all music and wrote all lyrics for „Neoantichrist“. Paul Dread did arrangements concerning drums and ROOT's guitarist Hanz recorded some acoustic guitar parts as a special guest. Another very special guest is Big Boss on vocals in „Pray for Chaos!“ song. Everything went smoothly during the recording session because we had all songs recorded for demo pre-production before we entered the Ch-Records studio to record instruments + vocals for the final album. No last word needed, other guys love my music and romantic verses as you do.

uq3EZuMfb74

MH: How strong are your views applied to your daily life? Do you get along esily with the ones whose life views differ from yours?

Igor: Depends on a situation and particular persons. Always open for a dialog but always also strong as a rock with my opinions. Maybe you've read this sentence in our booklet: „Acrid like a medusa and nasty as a wasp”.

MH: What bands were the major musical influence for you? I must admit that your new album is very professional and technical, like you have already been born with the musical instruments in your hands.

Igor: Wow, what a praise! Thank you. Definitely not born with our instruments in hands but there's quite an important thing. We love and we are a part of this music genre for so many years already. Everybody must hear it on the „Neoantichrist“ album and we're getting positive responses talking even about it. That's why we chose a true, wild and let's say dirtier sound of guitars and live drums. The result is a killer metal from darkness. Influences… All better musicians probably.

1gW9UlupQkI

MHDo you know smth. about Belarusian metal scene?

Igor: I must say no… It's interesting 'cause I know many artists and details of Polish scene which is my favoured one. Must read METALHEADS.by more often!

 

Interviewed: Kat the Telegraphist

Сохранить

Сохранить

Сохранить

Поиск

Ближайшие концерты


19
Nov
2017

19 November 2017

ГДК "Кирпич"
г. Брест, ул. Гоголя, 5


22
Nov
2017

22 November 2017

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


26
Nov
2017

26 November 2017

CUBA
ул. Первомайская, 29


02
Dec
2017

02 December 2017

Club “Propaganda”
V. Mykolaičio-Putino gatvė, 5, Vilnius, Литва


02
Dec
2017

02 December 2017

клуб "Брюгге"
Минск, Партизанский пр-т, 6А


09
Dec
2017

09 December 2017

"Mart"
г. Лида, ул. 8 Марта


20
Jan
2018

20 January 2018

клуб "Брюгге"
Партизанский пр-т, 6А


03
Feb
2018

03 February 2018

Клуб
Партизанский пр-т, 6А

Comments

 
METALHEADS.BY © 2014-2017 All Rights Reserved.

Language

>


«Едкий, как медуза и угрожающий, как оса» - Интервью с группой SOLFERNUS (Чехия)

  • 10/11/2017 - 19:32 Прочитано: 366  Оцените материал
    (3 голосов)
  • Комментариев: 

Для тебя не секрет, что в любой стране существует свои культовые группы.  И не секрет, что часто музыканты подобных ансамблей музицируют и в других проектах. Сегодня побеседуем с одним из таких бойцов - гитаристом культовых чехов ROOT - о его собственном коллективе SOLFERNUS.


MetalHeads.by (MH): Хотелось бы узнать подробнее про историю возникновения группы Solfernus? Что послужило толчком к её образованию?

Igor: SOLFERNUS был создан как black metal проект в 2003 году. Мы просто хотели создавать тёмную музыку. В тот же год мы самостоятельно записали мини-диск «Diabolic Fhenomenon», а затем дебютный полнометражный альбом «Hysteria in Coma» в 2005 году на Shindy Productions. Группа отыграла несколько концертов в Чехии и один в Германии, также участвовали в нескольких фестивалях. С 2008 года была довольно долгая пауза, и мы снова встретились в студии в 2016 году, чтобы записать второй полноформатник под названием «Neoantichrist», который недавно был выпущен Satanath Records. И на данный момент мы активно продвигаем наше детище.
IZT-PjyzvFY
MH: Насколько мне известно, вы ведете концертную деятельность редко и только в пределах Чехии. Вам никогда не хотелось увеличить её и расширить географию?

Igor: Если появится реальный интерес и мы снова начнем выступать, то уверен, что это будет во многих странах, а не только в Чехии.

MH: Вы выступали два года подряд на Brutal Assault в Чехии. Какие впечатления остались от организации мероприятия? Получили ли Вы максимум отдачи от публики? Были ли курьёзные случаи, которые отложатся в копилку весёлых историй для внуков?

Igor: SOLFERNUS впервые играл на Brutal Assault много лет назад. Тогда этот фестиваль не был таким масштабным, как сейчас. В тоже время он был самым большим событием метал-мира Чехии и Словакии. На Бруталах мы получали просто убийственную отдачу от зрителей, и эти выступления на сегодняшний день для нас самые значимые. Кстати, вы можете увидеть кадры 2006 года в видеоклипе «Hysteria in Coma».
По вопросам организации – все было круто, но не без косячков. А что удивительного, коль уже в то время фест принял около 7000 человек.

MH: На сегодняшний день, в каких музыкальных проектах участвуете? Какие идеи дальнейшего развития? Музыка – основной род занятий по жизни? У беларуских музыкантов, например, музыка лишь хобби, а зарабатывают они в других местах: программистами, строителями, врачами и т.д. Остаётся ли за этой лавиной творчества место для личной жизни?

Igor: Я и барабанщик играем в группе ROOT. Она для нас является доминантной. Мы выступаем на концертах и готовимся к созданию нового альбома с этой легендарной ордой. Музыка не основная деятельность, но, как вы сказали, основное хобби. Я уверен, что такое положение дел и в Беларуси, и в других местах. Просто музыка – это то, что освобождает нас от реальности и ежедневной рутины.

QpEzIJW999w

MH: Недавно у Вас вышел новый релиз с пикантным названием Neoantichrist. Тексты достаточно откровенные и призывные. Это выражение Ваших жизненной позиции и взглядов или коммерческий приём «запретный плод сладок»?

Igor: Это здорово, что вам нравятся тексты и название нового релиза. Я пытался поднять разные темы в каждой песне и сделать весь альбом более насыщенным и привлекательным. Запретный плод сладок - прекрасное описание. Однако большинство строк в текстах написаны с реальным взглядом на этот мир, особенно в заглавном треке «Neoantichrist». Кто-то может рассмотреть мрачное веселье в песне «That One Night», навеянное историей печально известного доктора Ганнибала Лектера, или отражение пробуждения в гробу во время спуска в могилу - мысли, которые мелькают хотя бы один раз в жизни каждого человека, - в треке под названием «Between Two Deaths». «Mistresserpent»- это настоящий хит ужаса, на который мы планируем снять клип.

MH: Кто отвечает за тексты, а кто за музыку? Всегда ли работа в студии слаженная? Возникают ли споры при написании материала? Чьё слово в коллективе решающее?

Igor: Я сочинил все музыку и тексты для «Neoantichrist». Пол Дрэд сделал аранжировки ударных, а гитарист ROOT Ханц, как специальный гость - некоторые акустические гитарные партии. В качестве вокалиста в записи участвовал еще один очень особенный гость Big Boss в песне «Pray for Chaos!». Все прошло как по маслу, потому что у нас были готовы все песни на демо, прежде чем мы вошли в студию Ch-Records для записи инструментов и вокала. Как правило, мы не спорим во время работы и никакое решающее слово не нужно, потому как другие парни любят мою музыку и романтические стихи, как вы.

uq3EZuMfb74

MH: Насколько сильно ваши взгляды пускают корни в рутинные будни? Легко ли Вам находить общий язык с теми, кто не придерживается Ваших взглядов?

Igor: Решает ситуация и, собственно, окружающее общество. Мы всегда открыты для диалога, но всегда так же крепки, как скала, в своём мнении. Возможно, вы прочли фразу в нашем буклете: «Едкий, как медуза и угрожающий, как оса».

MH: Какие группы повлияли на ваше творчество, кто является эталоном музыкального профессионализма? Отмечу, что в новом альбоме Вы звучите очень технично и здорово, будто родились с музыкальными инструментами в руках.

Igor: Ох, какой комплимент! Спасибо. Определенно, мы не родились с инструментами в руках, но есть один важный момент. Мы любим этот жанр и уже много лет являемся его частью. Каждый должен услышать это в альбоме «Neoantichrist», и позитивные отзывы, которые мы получаем - весьма красноречивы. Вот почему мы выбрали настоящий, дикий и, скажем, более грязный звук гитар и живых барабанов. Результат – убийственный метал из самых недр тьмы. Влияния... Наверняка все лучшие музыканты.

1gW9UlupQkI

MH: Знакомы ли Вы с беларуской метал-сценой?

Igor: Должен признаться - нет... Это любопытно, потому как я хорошо ориентируюсь, например, в польской сцене, кроме того она для меня любимая. Видимо нужно чаще читать METALHEADS!

 

Беседовала: Радистка Кэт

Сохранить

Сохранить

Поиск

Ближайшие концерты


20
янв
2018

20 января 2018

клуб Брюгге
Партизанский пр-т, 6А


28
янв
2018

28 января 2018

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


03
фев
2018

03 февраля 2018

клуб Брюгге
Партизанский пр-т, 6А


04
фев
2018

04 февраля 2018

клуб Брюгге
Партизанский пр-т, 6А


10
фев
2018

10 февраля 2018

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


24
март
2018

24 марта 2018

клуб Брюгге
Партизанский пр-т, 6А


30
март
2018

30 марта 2018

клуб Брюгге
Партизанский пр-т, 6А


07
апр
2018

07 апреля 2018

клуб Брюгге
Партизанский пр-т, 6А


12
мая
2018

12 мая 2018

клуб Брюгге
Партизанский пр-т, 6А

Комментарии

Контакты

METALHEADS.BY © 2014-2017 All Rights Reserved.

Language