Everything just starts: a trip to Ash & Skies world.

  • 15/01/2016 - 18:48 Read: 3606  Rate this item
    (23 votes)
  • comment 

The fact that Belarusian heavy stage is more than alive is proved once again bythe recent EP ‘Chasing D.’ release of the young and promising band Ash & Skies. Skilful combination of drive and melodic sound, vocals in the best post-hardcore traditions and the high-quality production set up a high standard both for the band and the whole native music industry. We decided to get to know Ash & Skies better in order to provide you with such an opportunity as well.

Hello guys! Let us know where such gifted folks like you are from? Probably you have a couple of weepy stories about how your vocation found you in early years and Vanya (Ваня) for example instead of pronouncing his first words started screaming, Benny discovered the magic of rattles and Franzisk (Франциск), Kostya (Костя) and Artyom (Артём) pulled at the relatives’ soul chords like masters until they found their guitars?  Or was everything more down-to-earth? How did you find yourselves and your style?

Hi MH!
Just like any other story ours starts with a Song. The one follows the music path when one’s imbued with it. For someone it can be a single song heard on the radio, TV or in a film that turned one’s world upside down. Then you see the way rock stars live and you want to live that way too. To know what it feels like when the audience sings along with you and shouts louder and louder. When you can be sure you are heard.
For Vanya such song was Creedence Clearwater Revival - Have You Ever Seen The Rain.
All of us found our own way to music and miraculously ended up together. Initially our band consisted of Franzisk and Vanya and was an internet-project. But anyway rock’n’roll is drive, shows and direct contact with the audience, so we decided to try that all in a full band cast. The main thing is to understand and to believe that everything in this world is possible.
So in the beginning of 2015 we announced ourselves with the single ‘My Only Home’ that was given a warm welcome. It inspired us and we started working on our debut album.

EHUvi w3Od8Your new EP ‘Chasing D’ has been carefully packed and uploaded by you to the free access in the internet without any alternative links for buying it. Why so generous? Don’t you think the hard work must be rewarded economically as well?

First of all we want to get across ourselves, our work and the best part of us to people, and nowadays buying music isn’t affordable to everyone. Even Miley Cyrus uploaded the latest album for free for those who can’t buy it. So we share it with everyone the first line. For the people ready to support us buying the album and the foreign audience used to paying for music we have prepared our release for sale, but it will be a bit later.

‘Chasing D.’ D – Dream? Dolphin? Dust? Oh this intriguing uncertainty. Won’t you unveil the mystery?

It’s not a mystery at all since everyone will have ones own word there. Probably ‘dream’, ‘destiny’ or ‘Daniel Radcliffe’ if you are a fan of the boy that survived. Everyone has one’s own aim in this life, just like our character. His thoughts on the matter can be heard in the chorus of the song. 
The value of the piece of art is that it can be interpreted differently and you can find smth. close and clear just for yourself.

A big ambitiousness can be felt in the album’s lyrics and music. Have you already prepared a plan of conquering large stages?

Of course! We have enough ambitions for each person that attends our show. We should leave such a trace behind that makes the next generations open their eyes and say looking at us: ‘damn, I want to live this way too!’ And one must get rid of such words as: ‘may be’, ‘probably’, ‘most likely’.

Tell us more about your album. Like is there any concept or each track has its own life? How long did it take to prepare the material? Did you have any disagreements having ‘several chefs in the kitchen’?

The concept is based on the history of the character and his formation. We tried to depict it both in tracks (each contains the description of the following historical stage), and the album’s cover: while the young character approaches his future – the huge floodlit stage, there are many problems and obstacles on his way – black cats. The first track is the reference to his father and then he escapes from home and follows his dream through joy and disappointment.
We worked on the material for about half a year. We didn’t want to hurry and lose the quality. The aim was to prepare a debut release that from the start sets up the definite standard both for the audience and us. 
Of course we had quarrels, but like a family, the band always comes to the best way out for everyone.

I can’t skip the patriotic track ‘My Only Home’. How do you think could it be a new national anthem?

It could be indeed! If the anthem could contain the word ‘f*ck’. This track set up the whole concept of our EP. The history starts there and we first mentioned things that are close to us like the affection for home and pine for dear places that comes when we have to leave them for a long time.
After the release we got some new ideas, that’s why we included into the album slightly changed classic-rock version.

And are you interested in Belarusian stage? Are there any native musicians in the list of people who influenced you and your music?

Our stage has many bands doing interesting things and just acquaintances from this sphere we communicate with. So one way or another all the musicians share certain experience they acquired, ideas for promotion and implicitly affect one another. 

If we push ‘play’ button right now, what will we hear in the earphones of each of you?

Franzisk will arrange it this way that he would allegedly listen to Led Zeppellin - Immigrant Song.
Benny talks to whales, so it will be Gojira - Ocean Planet.
Artyom will be looking down in a modest silence listening to Heart of a Coward - Skeletal II: Arise.
Kostya stands out listening to Foals - What Went Down.
Well, whatever everyone likes, Vanya definitely listens to Hannah Montana.

Do you have any rituals or traditions that the band strictly follows before playing a show?

We have a tradition of pushing and bothering each other while Benny shouts calling us an unorganized crowd of bold apes. And besides that, of course, we get ready for the show with the maximum energy sharing.

The recent cover on Adele ‘Hello’is it a tribute of respect to the singer, wish to be seen or smth. else? Don’t you afraid of comparisons both to the original song and to the numerous covers that may follow?

It all started when Kostya sent to our chat her new track released after three years’ break, just for us to listen because we normally share the music we listen to. We liked the song and decided to make a cover because the album had already been done and just a few technical questions left, so we had nothing to do. By the way our vocalist likes the works of that girl very much.
Now it’s very hard to be noticed with this cover on Youtube because hundreds of musicians with popular channels released their versions right away and got hundreds thousands views. That’s why it was more likely a tribute of respect and a curious experiment of covering a pop-track. We haven’t had such an experience before.
People will always compare the band with smth. else and they have all rights to do that. It’s incredibly pleasant when someone likes the things we do. But there will always be sofa-critics as well. Even the greatest bands were once or even now are considered by someone to be ungifted, but it doesn’t mean they actually are. If one pays too much attention to such things he or she can spend the half of one’s life trying to prove smth. That’s why we are working for people that support us and grow with us. At the moment the cover has more than 30 000 views and we are satisfied with the result, but by no means are going to stop.

Which song would you recommend to start with a person unfamiliar with your music?

Mrs.Sadness – the final track in the album. It contains one of our favourite verses depicted on the cover:
"My life's full of black cats"

What about ‘mini-tour’ in order to support your ‘mini-album’?

At the moment we are arranging a tour in Russia to support the release and hope that it will be far from ‘mini’.
In summer we have some plans about Belarus.

Thanks a lot for your answers. We wish you fire in your hearts, full-houses on your shows, light guitars and a heavy sound!

Thank you too for the questions! See you on the shows!


More information about the band can be found in the official group VKontakte or on Facebook.

Interviewed: Gella Inspired
Photos are provided by the band.

Media




Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

Поиск

Ближайшие концерты


01
Mar
2021

01 March 2021

Prime Hall
пр. Победителей 65


07
Mar
2021

07 March 2021


TBA


12
Mar
2021

12 March 2021

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


06
Jun
2021

06 June 2021

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


11
Sep
2021

11 September 2021

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62

Вход

METALHEADS.BY © 2014-2019 All Rights Reserved. 93c8f939b9c83ef7

Все только начинается: экскурсия в мир Ash & Skies.

  • 15/01/2016 - 18:48 Прочитано: 4049  Оцените материал
    (23 голосов)
  •  
Все только начинается: экскурсия в мир Ash & Skies.
То, что белорусская тяжелая сцена более чем жива лишний раз подтверждает недавний выход EP "Chasing D." молодой и перспективной группы Ash & Skies. Грамотное соотношение драйва и мелодичности, вокал в лучших традициях пост-хардкора и качественный продакшн задают высокую планку как для самого коллектива, так и для всей отечественной музыкальной индустрии. Мы решили поближе познакомиться с Ash & Skies, чтобы теперь предоставить такую возможность и вам.    

Привет, ребята! Давайте рассказывайте, откуда вы такие талантливые? Может, у вас в загашнике завалялась парочка душещипательных историй о том, как ваше призвание нашло вас еще с пеленок и, например, вместо первого слова Ваня начал скримить, Benny открыл магию погремушек, а Франциск, Костя и Артём мастерски теребили струны души близких до тех пор пока не добрались до гитарных? Или все было гораздо прозаичнее? Как вы нашли себя и свой стиль?

И вам привет, MH!

Как и любая история, наша начинается с Песни. На музыкальный путь все становятся когда проникаются музыкой. Для кого-то это может быть одна песня, которую он услышал по радио, телевизору или в кино, и она перевернула его мир. Затем видишь как живут рок-звёзды и хочешь стать таким же. Испытать то чувство, когда тебе подпевает весь зал и кричит всё громче и громче. Когда ты можешь быть уверен в том, что тебя услышат.
Для Вани такой песней стала Creedence Clearwater Revival - Have You Ever Seen The Rain.
Все мы по-своему пришли к музыке и чудесным образом оказались вместе. Изначально наша команда состояла из Франциска и Вани как просто интернет-проект. Но, как ни крути, рок-н-ролл – это драйв, концерты и непосредственный контакт с публикой, потому и было принято решение попробовать всё это в составе полной группы. Главное - это понять и поверить, что в этом мире всё возможно.
И вот в начале 2015-го мы заявили о себе синглом "My Only Home", который был довольно тепло встречен, после чего мы, вдохновлённые, приступили к работе над дебютным альбомом.

EHUvi w3Od8Ваш новый EP ‘Chasing D’ был заботливо упакован и выложен вами в свободный доступ в сети без альтернативных ссылок на его покупку. Откуда такая щедрость? Разве тяжкий труд не должен быть вознагражден, в том числе и материально?

В первую очередь надо донести себя, творчество, свою лучшую часть до людей, а в наше время не каждый может позволить себе покупку музыки. Даже Майли Сайрус выложила последний альбом бесплатно для тех, кто не может себе позволить его приобрести. В первую очередь мы делимся со всеми. Для тех, кто готов поддержать нас покупкой и для зарубежной публики, которая уже привыкла платить за музыку, мы подготовили наш релиз на продажу, но это будет немного позже.

‘Chasing D.’ D – Dream? Dolphin? Dust? Ох уж эта интригующая недосказанность. Не приоткроете тайну?

Это вовсе не тайна, так как у каждого там будет своё слово. Возможно мечта, возможно судьба, возможно Дэниэл Рэдклиф, если вы фанат мальчика, который выжил. В этой жизни каждый преследует свою цель, как и наш лирический герой. О его мыслях по этому поводу можно узнать в припеве самой песни.
Ценность художественного произведения заключается также и в том, что его можно по-разному интерпретировать и найти что-то близкое и понятное только тебе.

От альбома веет большой амбициозностью как в плане музыки, так и лирики. У вас уже готов план захвата больших площадок?

Ещё бы! Амбиций хватит на каждого зрителя, пришедшего на концерт. Надо оставить такой след в этом мире, чтобы все последующие поколения прозревали от того, как мы могли вообще существовать и говорили: "чёрт, хочу так же!". И обязательно надо искоренять такие слова как «наверное», «возможно», «может быть».

Расскажите больше о своем альбоме. Например, лежит ли в его основе определенная концепция или каждый трек существует сам по себе? Как долго вы готовили материал? Не возникало ли у вас разногласий, когда на «музыкальной кухне несколько шефов»?

В основе концепции альбома лежит история лирического героя, путь его становления. Мы постарались это отобразить, как в треках (в каждом из которых описана очередная ступень истории), так и обложкой альбома: пока ещё юный герой идёт к своему будущему – гигантской сцене, освещённой софитами, а на его пути множество проблем и препятствий – черных кошек. Первый трек это отсылка на его отца, а уже далее он сбегает из дома и идёт за мечтой через радости и разочарования.
Материал готовили около полугода. Не хотелось никуда спешить, теряя в качестве. Целью было подготовить дебютный релиз, который сразу выставит определенную планку как в глазах слушателей, так и для самих себя.
Конечно же, у нас были споры, но как и в семье, в группе мы в итоге всегда приходим к наилучшему для всех решению.

Не могу обойти стороной патриотичный ‘My Only Home’. Как думаете, он мог бы стать новым гимном?

Еще как мог бы! Если бы в гимне разрешали слово "f*ck". Это был трек от которого и пошла концепция нашего EP. В истории он идёт первым, и именно там мы затронули близкие нам темы привязанности к очагу и тоске по родным местам, когда приходится надолго их покидать.
Уже после выхода у нас появились новые идеи, и поэтому в альбом вошла чуть измененная в сторону классического рока версия.

А вы сами интересуетесь белорусской сценой? Есть ли кто-нибудь из ее представителей в списке тех, кто повлиял на вас и ваше творчество?

На нашей сцене хватает музыкальных коллективов, творчество которых представляет определённый интерес, да и просто знакомых из этой сферы, с которыми мы общаемся. И, так или иначе, все музыканты делятся друг с другом определенным наработанным опытом, идеями по продвижению, поэтому косвенно влияют друг на друга.

Если прямо сейчас нажать на «плей», что мы услышим в наушниках у каждого из вас?

Франциск специально подстроит, что у него якобы играло Led Zeppellin - Immigrant Song.
Бенни разговаривает с китами, поэтому Gojira - Ocean Planet.
Артём будет скромно молчать и смотреть в пол во время Heart of a Coward - Skeletal II: Arise.
Костя элитирует под Foals - What Went Down.
Ну а что бы ни слушали остальные, у Вани точно играет Ханна Монтана.

А у вас есть какие-нибудь ритуалы перед выступлениями или интересные традиции, которых неукоснительно придерживается вся группа?

У нас есть традиция толкаться, мешать друг другу, пока Бенни орёт, что мы неорганизованное стадо лысых обезьян. Ну а так, конечно же, настраиваемся на шоу с целью выйти и передать залу как можно больше энергии.

Недавний кавер на Adele ‘Hello’ – это дань уважения исполнителю, желание быть замеченными или что-то еще? Не боитесь сравнений не только с оригиналом, но и с другими многочисленными каверами?

Всё началось с того, что Костя скинул в нашу беседу её новый трек, выпущенный после трёхлетней паузы в творчестве, просто чтобы мы послушали, так как нам свойственной постоянно обмениваться новой музыкой. Песня понравилась и мы тут же решили, что можно сделать кавер, так как альбом был написан и решались некоторые технические вопросы, а мы сидели без дела. Тем более, что наш вокалист очень любит творчество этой подруги.
Быть замеченным с этим кавером на Youtube уже сложно, ведь в первые дни свои версии выпустили сотни музыкантов с развитыми каналами, которым сразу же пришли сотни тысяч просмотров. Поэтому это, скорее, была дань уважения и любопытный для нас эксперимент по переигрыванию поп-трека, ведь до этого подобного опыта у нас не было.
Люди всегда будут сравнивать коллектив с чем-либо другим, и это их полное право. Безумно приятно, когда кому-то нравится то, что мы делаем. Но диванные критики имеют место быть. Даже величайшие команды кто-нибудь да считал или считает бездарными, но это их таковыми не делает. Если отвлекаться на это, то можно полжизни сидеть и доказывать что-то. Поэтому мы работаем для людей, которые нас поддерживают и растут вместе с нами. На данный момент кавер пересек в 30 000 просмотров и мы рады этому результату, но никак не собираемся останавливаться.

С какой бы песни вы посоветовали начать человеку незнакомому с вашим творчеством?

Mrs.Sadness – заключительный трек в альбоме. Именно там есть одна из наших любимых строчек, нашедшая отражение на обложке:
"My life's full of black cats"

Как насчет «мини-турне» в поддержку «мини-альбома»?

На данный момент мы формируем тур по России в поддержку релиза и рассчитываем, что он будет отнюдь не «мини».
Летом есть планы и насчет просторов Синеокой.

Спасибо огромное за ответы. Желаем вам огня в сердцах, полные залы, легкие гитары и тяжелый звук!

Спасибо и вам за вопросы. До новых встреч на концертах!

Больше информации о группе можно найти в официальном сообществе ВКонтакте или на Facebook.

Беседовала: Gella Inspired
Фото предоставлены группой.




Поиск

Мы в Telegram

Ближайшие концерты


28
мая
2022

28 мая 2022

Брюгге
Партизанский пр-т, 6А


22
окт
2022

22 октября 2022

Prime Hall
пр. Победителей 65


10
апр
2023

10 апреля 2023

Prime Hall
пр. Победителей 65

MetalHeads.by © 2014-2021 All Rights Reserved.