Dialogue with the Universe: Cult Of Fire & Phurpa in Minsk

  • 02/10/2016 - 18:07 Read: 2149  Rate this item
    (0 votes)
  • comment 

The line-up seemed kind of unusual to me: tantric chants warming up a black metal band. However the gig promised anything but boredom, so the crowd in anticipation rushed to the stage as soon as one heard the first sounds of magical instruments of Phurpa.
1Despite it was just a soundcheck, the sight was fascinating. Grim setting, exotic instruments around Alexej Tegin, who was literally breathing life into each of them: dung chens (2-3 meter high tubes), dung dkar (a seashell) rgya ling (Tibetan oboe), etc. People surrounded the stage in a dense crowd to see all the tools for making magic tonight. Dim green light lost its way in the dark robes of "Tibetan shamans", reflected from the drum and impregnating the air, plunging the room into the haze. When the musicians started singing, one could feel the vibration of their voices piercing one's whole being and resonating in one’s chest. 2

Since for obvious reasons there was no extraordinary action on stage, I decided to shift from contemplation to joining. I made myself comfortable on a cozy couch, closed my eyes and let mantras leading me anywhere. No, I haven't achieved nirvana, perhaps because of people passing by and looking for entertainment in a noisy conversation and pulling me out of absorption from time to time. To my mind the ideal way for this kind of event would be giving people chance to take part in the ritual, namely if everyone could sit down on a mat for instance and blend into the chants. Phurpa played for about an hour and a half, but my perception of time has been completely blurred, and it seemed like 10 minutes. Very interesting experience, which is definitely worth repeating. 3

While I was coming to my senses after such a blissful state, the decorations for the performance of Czech black metal band Cult Of Fire have been arranged. Apart from band's logo multiple candles and incense appeared on stage, tart and almost suffocating, just like the music of COF. The guys know their job. They don't need to cheer up the audience and ask smth. like: do you want some more? They controlled the crowd with a short wave of the hand the way skillful conductors do, and, of course, with music. Excellent, powerful setlist performed by the musicians looking like ancient masked deities, who lit a real fire in the eyes of the people. There was no such thing as passiveness on the dance floor: people headbanged like hell; the ones in the forefront reached out their hands for the musicians, thus expressing all the emotional intensity; great atmosphere hypnotized and captivated. But COF disappeared from the stage way too quickly. 4


Having regard to the limits of an average metalhead's endurance, it was definitely not enough. The band played for less than an hour plus the performance of Phurpa was favourable for recharging rather than for energy release, so even such an intense headbanging couldn't exhaust the full potential of the public. I don't know whether there were any records in ancient sources about deities' encore, but our Czech guests didn't show up on stage anymore despite how hard people called them. But to my mind if one craves for more - it's the quality sign. And this evening was exactly of this kind.


Photos: Inga Max
Text: Gella Inspired



Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

Поиск

Радио MetalHeads

Ближайшие концерты


19
Jul
2020

19 July 2020

Брюгге
Партизанский пр-т, 6А


12
Sep
2020

12 September 2020

Брюгге
Партизанский пр-т, 6А


25
Sep
2020

25 September 2020

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


06
Nov
2020

06 November 2020

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


17
Nov
2020

17 November 2020

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


26
Nov
2020

26 November 2020

Falcon Club Arena
пр. Победителей 20


01
Mar
2021

01 March 2021

Prime Hall
пр. Победителей 65


07
Mar
2021

07 March 2021


TBA


12
Mar
2021

12 March 2021

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62

Вход

METALHEADS.BY © 2014-2019 All Rights Reserved. 93c8f939b9c83ef7

Диалог со Вселенной: Cult Of Fire & Phurpa в Минске

  • 02/10/2016 - 18:07 Прочитано: 2150  Оцените материал
    (0 голосов)
  •  

Музыкальный состав показался мне несколько необычным: тантрические песнопения на разогреве у блэка. Однако, гиг обещал всё что угодно кроме скуки, поэтому толпа в предвкушении хлынула к сцене как только услышала первые звуки магических инструментов Phurpa.
1И пусть это был всего лишь саундчек, зрелище вышло завораживающим. Мрачный антураж, экзотические инструменты, разложенные вокруг Алексея Тегина, в прямом смысле вдыхающего жизнь в каждый из них поочерёдно: дунчены (2-3х метровые трубы), дункар (морская раковина), гьялинг (тибетский гобой) и т.д. Зрители окружили сцену плотной толпой, чтобы рассмотреть всё то, с помощью чего сегодня будет вершиться магия. Тусклый зеленоватый свет терялся в тёмных мантиях "тибетских шаманов", отражался от барабана и пропитывал воздух, погружая зал в марево. Когда же музыканты запели,  можно было ощутить как вибрации их голосов пронизывают всё твоё существо, резонируя в груди. 2

Так как на сцене особого экшена, по понятным причинам, не наблюдалось, я решила от созерцания перейти к участию. Устроившись на уютном диванчике, закрываю глаза и позволяю мантрам вести меня куда бы то ни было. Нет, нирваны я не достигла, возможно, потому что из состояния погружённости меня то и дело вырывали сновавшие мимо люди, которые искали развлечение в шумной беседе. Идеальным, на мой взгляд, форматом для такого рода представления было бы вовлечение пришедших в ритуал, а именно если бы каждый мог присесть на коврик, отрешиться и раствориться в песнопениях. Выступали Phurpa где-то полтора часа, но моё восприятие времени было полностью размыто и они пролетели как 10 минут. Очень интересный опыт, который однозначно стоит повторить. 3

Пока я выходила из блаженного околотрансового состояния, активно готовились декорации к выступлению чешских блэк-металлистов Cult Of Fire. Сцена запестрила символикой группы, стали зажигать многочисленные свечи и благовония, такие же терпкие и практически удушающие, как и сама музыка COF. Знают, что делают – это про них. Этим ребятам не нужно было подбадривать публику и спрашивать: вы хотите ещё? Они управляли толпой лаконичным мановением руки как опытные дирижёры, ну и, конечно же, музыкой. Отменный, мощный сет-лист в исполнении невозмутимых как древние божества в масках музыкантов, зажёг самый настоящий огонь в глазах публики. О пассивности зрителей не было и речи: повсюду царил лютый хэдбэнгинг; люди в первых рядах тянули руки к музыкантам, выражая весь эмоциональный накал; потрясающая атмосфера гипнотизировала и растворяла в себе. Однако, COF исчезли со сцены слишком быстро. 4

Учитывая пределы выносливости среднестатистического металхеда, этого было явно недостаточно. Группа отыграла меньше часа, плюс выступление Phurpa располагало, скорее, на подзарядку, нежели на высвобождение энергии, а потому даже такой интенсивный хэдбэнгинг не смог истощить весь потенциал публики. Не знаю был ли зафиксирован в древних источниках выход божеств на бис, но наши чешские гости несмотря на призывы публики, на сцене больше не показались. Я же считаю, что если хочется ещё – это знак качества. И этот вечер был именно таким.


Фото: Inga Max
Текст: Gella Inspired



 

Для возможности комментирования пройдите авторизацию

Поиск

Радио MetalHeads

Ближайшие концерты


19
июль
2020

19 июля 2020

Брюгге
Партизанский пр-т, 6А


12
сен
2020

12 сентября 2020

Брюгге
Партизанский пр-т, 6А


25
сен
2020

25 сентября 2020

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


06
нояб
2020

06 ноября 2020

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


17
нояб
2020

17 ноября 2020

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62


26
нояб
2020

26 ноября 2020

Falcon Club Arena
пр. Победителей 20


01
март
2021

01 марта 2021

Prime Hall
пр. Победителей 65


07
март
2021

07 марта 2021


TBA


12
март
2021

12 марта 2021

Re:Public
ул. Притыцкого, 62

Вход

METALHEADS.BY © 2014-2019 All Rights Reserved. 93c8f939b9c83ef7